THANK YOU HAIRDRESSING

I wanted to be a lawyer but decided that I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if I had to defend the guilty.

I wanted to do psychology but know that I suffer from something called the ‘Messianic Complex’. A complex that is described as a person who wants to save the world. I would’ve destroyed myself trying to help others. I don’t know how to detach. STILL DO THAT IN MANY ASPECTS ANYWAY…..’NO’ IS SUCH A DIFFICULT WORD!

I thought about fashion……still would love that….but anyhow.

HAIRDRESSING CHOSE ME.

I was 19 and trying to study Human Resources Management…..soooooo boring. I was working at a restaurant in Durban called the Aliwal Lighthouse. Flip those were fun times…I was recently single and trying to make ends meet…I was a brilliant waitron! I hated serving Indian patrons though ….jug of water for the table 2 pizzas for everyone to share and they sat forever chatting and they NEVER tipped….wonder why? Restuarants and waiters depend on table turnover….lol? (Still a complaint I hear from my student/waiter clients)(THIS IS NOT A RACIST STATEMENT JUST AN EXPERIENCE AND OBSERVATION….I HAVE HAD MANY MULTI-RACIAL LOVERS….OK…JUST SAYING)

Searching the local newspaper for accommodation I stumbled across a little ad saying Hairdressing apprentice’s required….and a ph number.

SO MY JOURNEY BEGAN.

As many who read my blog now know, for some rhyme or reason GOD has always looked after me…..even when I didn’t agree or realise it.

Sloanes Hair Company was my introduction into the world of beauty that has seen me get a gazillion written warnings and fall and rise umpteen times. The salon was amazing…..Raymond, Donald, Clinton, Claire, Craig, Jay and Donovan were the ones tasked to try mould a wild broken stallion (or maybe a little donkey sometimes) into a stylist. Eish I feel sorry for them now when I think back….I was DIFFICULT.

STILL AM…..I GUESS.

The salon was formidable….winning competition’s,  doing fashion, theatre,  makeup, shoot work and the list goes on. Donald and I never saw eye to eye….still not sure really why. But if you read this by any chance Donald….thank you for being tough….a lot of what I love about hairdressing is what you taught me….even if you didn’t think I was learning…..lol.

My first encounter with self-esteem was through my Senior Stylist. Clinton worked me to the bone….willingly I might add….he always was the straight hottie clients and myself alike were in admiration for.

One day Clint walked up behind me and less than a wack more than a pat hit my shoulder and said: “Walk upright….be proud of who you are.” I always felt inferior to everyone….I guess it showed.

I started competitive hairdressing from young into my Hair Career. My 1st competition was a disaster. It was for the EHOCB regional’s. I so desperately wanted to make my bosses proud that I prepared in secret much to their disapproval. AND YES THEY WERE RIGHT….REGRETTABLY! 

We had 25 min to do a cut and blow dry. 

My model was aaaaaaaaaaall wrong….thick curly bra-strap length hair. Needless to say I didn’t even finish the cut before that bell alarm went off. 

CAN 25MIN GO SO DARN FAST!?

Over the years because of my insecurities I have blown many relationships in hairdressing. Not because I wanted to but because the amount of work a broken boy needed to do sometimes got in the way of doing the job he has loved and hated many times.

I have been the star and the disaster often. Given up on this elaborate career and always been drawn back. 

The advantage of having worked in most of the top high-end salon’s from Terry Scott to Carlton is that I have many secrets that will probably go with me to the grave….lol. But if ever I get to own my own shop I have learnt great lessons on the best practices to motivate stylists and pitfalls many bosses make. One day is oneday. 

Thankfully I have always had 2 reputation’s. …1) being high-risk and 2) highly talented. I have disagreed with both forever.

WHY?

1) When you are trying to find your place in the world because you don’t think you deserve it….you make stupid choices based on hurt rather than love…..so sometimes just SOMETIMES what looks like 1 thing is actually another….lol.

2) I have been fortunate to work with some of the most talented people ever….and compete against the others…in truth I have had to bust my chops to get anywhere within striking distance…YES YVONNE BRYSON. …WE ALL KNOW YOU ARE A PAIN FOR BEING PROBABLY THE BEST SHOWMAN IN THE COUNTRY. But I am coming…..lol.Love you madly!!!!

Over the years  the encouragement of my clients driving me to push beyond my failings….Vicki, Yvonne, Ella, Murial….you girls mean more to me than you will ever know.

I am grateful that no matter how many times I have disappointed…someone in my industry has always looked beyond the obvious and seen the man who is fighting tooth and nail for his little spot in the sun…MY GREATEST SECRET LOVE MAY WELL BE OF THE BUSINESS EXCELLENCE THE FAMILY OF ‘FRANCO’S INTERNATIONAL’ TAUGHT ME. U guys took the artist and turned him into someone that understands the business of hair in a workable way. THANK YOU!

HAIRDRESSING SO MANY TIMES YOU HAVE SAVED MY BUTT AND I CANNOT HONOUR YOU ENOUGH BY SAYING THANK YOU FOR TAKING A BROKEN BOY UNDER YOUR WING AND PUSHING HIM TO BE MORE THAN HE BELIEVED HE EVER WAS OR COULD BE…..

U GUYS ROCK!!!!!!

TERRY SCOTT  SINGLE-HANDEDLY THE STORY OF YOU AS A YOUNG MAN VISITING PEOPLE’S HOUSES TO GENERATE CAPITAL AND EXPERIENCE HAS MOTIVATED ME TO KEEP FIGHTING….THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

