The impossibilities of being

In a discussion with a client the topic of organised religions and the divide they have created came up.I am certainly no expert. I have read a bit on the topic. So too have i experienced some of the various philosophies through organised teaching. Perhaps my biggest teacher came through the often heated debates from various learned people over the years. Each defending there right to be most right.

A prolific Christian pastor a while ago was called a heretic for making the statement that all truth is God’s truth. This premise is founded on the principal that God cannot be untruth.

Where that leaves the different theologies is intriguing and heated.

All I know is that the ego has mislead not only myself but many. Even more tricky is motivation.

FOR EXAMPLE: 2 PEOPLE CAN LOOK THE SAME, STAND FOR THE SAME THING, SPEAK THE SAME THING BUT THE MOTIVATING DRIVING FORCE BEHIND IT CAN DETERMINE WHETHER THE OUTCOME IS STAINED BY AN AGENDA.

In my own life it took me many years to get comfortable with the idea of charging for my talent as a hairstylist. I felt terribly guilty to charge for a gift I didn’t give myself. I eventually accepted that our gifts are the manner in which we generate a life. So instead of being dependant on another our gifts are our responsibility to keep us looking after ourselves and others. Knowing my value does not allow me to be manipulated to cheapen my service. Instead by being honest and proud of my place in the world I aim at being the best I can be. I no longer need to sell my gift at less to get people to support what I do.

So too is my relationship with God. For years I bore anger as I wanted God to fix me in the time, manner, process and result I saw fit. That was before I saw that my motivation was driven by insecurity.

As I adjust my focus from being less than to owning my life I less need the approval of others to fulfill me. This freedom allows me the scope to stand in my strength as I work on my flaws.

Living in my authenticity has shown me how amazing God really is because in spite of us we are loved dearly. Love is not a game for the fainted hearted. 

Fighting forward in love courageously!

Leave a Reply

