Courageous 

Last night I had the brilliant opportunity to see a prolific artist perform. Crystal Carrington! Her show is filled with irony and satire. As I sat mesmerised, I was in awe of the volume of effort made. The songs, lyrics, choreography, costumes and message were oustanding to say the least. Nevermind incredibly researched. Entertainment off the top shelf!!!!! 

The love of this artists craft was tangible!!!!!

So too was I amazed by how much I have changed as a person. There I was l’il ol me surrounded by seriously successful and wealthy people. I mean owning aeroplanes, multiple properties and dropping 1/2 a mill on collectors watches etc is no sweat……kinda wealthy. Usually I would shy away from these kinds of people as I would be intimidated but as I sat there engaging conversation I learnt a valuable lesson.

THE THING I HAVE IN SERIOUS ABUNDANCE IS LOVE!

I could see past the successes of people and simply admire the beauty of performer and patrons alike. The overwhelming thing is that each and every person, more than the stuff, simply were people doing their best to get along in an often cruel world amid personal difficulties.

SOMETIMES IT IS SO EASY TO LET THE STUFF SEPARATE US INSTEAD OF US LOOKING INTO THE COMMONALITIES THAT MAKE US THE SAME.

I learnt this lesson many years ago in rehab:

THE SPIRITUALITY OF BEING HUMAN

1) ACCEPTING OURSELVES AS INDIVIDUALS IN A TRIBE OF INDIVIDUALS 

2) ACCEPTING OTHERS IN THAT TRIBE OF INDIVIDUALS 

3) BEING AN ACTIVE PRODUCTIVE MEMBER IN THAT TRIBE

4) LEAVING A LEGACY FOR THE TRIBE YET TO COME.

You see at the end of the day all we really have is ourselves and others.The rest is just stuff. The stuff can intimidate or can inspire respect and admiration. 

As for myself this tribe we call homosapiens is the only tribe I have. 

PERHAPS IF I MET AN ALIEN PERSONALLY I MIGHT CHANGE MY MIND. 

FOR NOW I THINK I AM GOING TO DO THE TASK THAT JESUS CALLED ME TO DO ” LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOUR AS YOU LOVE YOURSELF”.

 I got out of the Uber having chatted deeply about the story of the ‘Good Samaritan’ with the driver, ( shows you how terrible I am with names….can’t even remember the drivers name….lol).I was gently reminded that perhaps the only legacy to build on is being the hands and feet of a loving GOD who everyday without fail loves us, blesses us and takes the pain of rejection. 

I COULDN’T DO IT BUT NOW I CAN….

Loving myself enough to try be better. For years I punished myself. I kept reaching out for love in the most destructive ways. I hated myself so much that I was silently  killing myself through addiction. 

As I walk in greater freedom so too does my love of others grow and my legacy stares me square on in the face.

LOVE CONQUERS ALL…..EVERYTIME!

Thank you Mom for showing me how it is done…..

Leave a Reply

