Conversing Clients

Perhaps the greatest joy of being a stylist is the people! Getting snapshots of others is an endless source of inspiration.

The question I get asked the most often is: ” Do you love what you do?” If like any of us I am truly honest the answer is: “It depends on who is sitting in my chair.” Some people, I guess, have shut themselves off in fear of rejection/ hurt/ judgement and can be hostile to say the least. Some are seeking approval. Others play it cooler than the Sahara. Whilst some are creating connections in all circumstances. The absolute truth is I expend a lot of energy trying to get to the heart of every person and hair is the opportunity by which it happens.

Over a lunch the other day someone studying medicine remarked:” It is not like hair will save lives.” Hun wait until you have had a bad cut and we will chat again. As much as I agree that in the scheme of the big picture what I do for a living  is superficial. The thing, however, is that my job affects how you see yourself and in turn how you function in yours.In the same vain I fail to see why corporations and schools don’t encourage people to be themselves. The irony is that most people want to be attractive so their choices would not be as outrageous as most think. Let the school goers find their groove while they are young and we might avoid some of the hectic identity issues people have.

Over the years I am astounded by some simple observations. When I ask women to describe themselves to me 99% will tell me what they do….mother/ wife/ career girl etc. When I reflect on the fact that those are functions and not who we are most burst into tears. I always say:”The first thing when you wake up  and the last thing you are at night is a woman. WHAT KIND OF A WOMAN ARE YOU?”

The point is that when we live in our true authenticity we flavour our functions in life with a fragrance called Unique or Individual. Trust me when I say that when a woman loves being a woman it shows. No; being a vital girl does not mean having to be ‘easy’. In fact it is the complete opposite. When you know your value ( honestly) you will not give yourself away too readily. The iconic women of our time like Madonna/ Oprah/ Mother Theresa/ Princess Diana/ Margaret Thatcher/ Winnie Mandela/ Helen Zille are testimony to fighting the status quo of what ‘Girl’ means. (whether we agree with their behaviour or not they still broke the moulds of perception) Trust me I have seen woman alone….ladies are not always ladies….lol!

So what kind of woman are you?

Something that I love about the boys is this struggle between being masculine and having feelings….it is cuuuuuuuute to say the least. Most guys will reveal their heart through the jokes they tell. Even though sometimes the joke is hectic the meaning runs far beneath the surface. For most guys a joke is their way of saying:” I am at peace with the current circumstance.” Most men I have styled keep things light for ease of environment. BUT BEWARE WHEN HIS HUMOUR WALKS OUT THE DOOR A WAR IS ABOUT TO BEGIN…

The fascinating thing with men is that because the conflict of brutal vs boy exists; finding a way to express that for each individual guy is an intricate process. Often when I have to describe why I would recommend certain looks for certain male faces I have to tread carefully. Being gay and cutting a guys hair I have to keep the lines very clear about my intentions between professional and personal. YES OF COURSE IT IS DIFFICULT SOMETIMES….HECK I WORK OPPOSITE A GYM FOR CRYING OUT LOUD.. (I am only human after all)

HERE IS A PERSONALITY GRAPH TO HELP DECIPHER YOUR VIBE.

The Humanitarian is the person who seeks organic produce and products and tries to live by a standard of ‘DO NO HARM’. This person is identified in any of the above profiles but with a distinctive flavour in their philosophy.

THE POINT: 

EVERY PERSON HAS THEIR UNIQUE SET OF ‘BEING’ SO LET’S TRY UNDERSTAND OUR DIFFERENCES AND LOVE EACH OTHER FOR WHO THEY ARE AND NOT ‘WHAT’ THEY ARE….TRUST ME EVERYBODY RESPONDS FAVOURABLY TO AUTHENTIC LOVE….IT’S OUR DNA.

Leave a Reply

