Sticky Love

I am totally enamoured with having 2 days off back to back. Today  the rain gives allowance to do the minimum required and that’s nice for a change. But it’s yesterday that brought about the topic of today’s thinking.

Love that sticks!

Meeting with friends proved to bring much entertainment and thought provoking discussion. It was heated in parts as the topics of Creationist vs Evolutionist and Science vs Religion always do….but it was fun. Ultimately one has to settle on the fact that Everything can only be resolved by One thing. 

Does the outcome of whatever you believe action you to love others? And get you to do stuff that makes lives better? 

(Please hear me, although I choose to be a Christian many of the criticisms that you have….I do to. But for me personally being Christian is the best answer for myself I have ever found. So my reference point is always God as I understand him, therefore my personal best indicator of my moral code…and in my case often lack thereof…..lol)

Having said that the resolve of yesterday’s discussion ended with an amicable agreement. Same outcome different approach. 

A lesson that I love is this one:

Dear friends, do you think you’ll get anywhere in this if you learn all the right words but never do anything? Does merely talking about faith indicate that a person really has it? For instance, you come upon an old friend dressed in rags and half-starved and say, “Good morning, friend! Be clothed in Christ! Be filled with the Holy Spirit!” and walk off without providing so much as a coat or a cup of soup—where does that get you? Isn’t it obvious that God-talk without God-acts is outrageous nonsense? I can already hear one of you agreeing by saying, “Sounds good. You take care of the faith department, I’ll handle the works department.” Not so fast. You can no more show me your works apart from your faith than I can show you my faith apart from my works. Faith and works, works and faith, fit together hand in glove.

James 2:14‭-‬18 MSG

http://bible.com/97/jas.2.14-18.MSG

With that said; moving on.

I saw the movie ‘Moonlight’ yesterday. Besides being a deeply moving bit of cinematography the messages and acting were seriously gripping. Be warned though: if you are not into more Art type movies this is probably not for you. But if you enjoy movies that stir up a well of  self-examination in your heart IT IS A MUST.

The struggle of the lead is all too familiar. Acceptance, approval, self-love, desire and conformity to society. And besides that the grown up lead is drool worthy entirely!!! 

The point however is a question that fits snugly into yesterday’s events. A question found on pg 59 of the NA Step Working Guide. A question that I guess we all need to ask ourselves after every action we take.

DO I ACCEPT MYSELF TODAY?

Off the bat it’s easy. I am home alone with nobody around to witness my antics so I have only my own yardstick to measure myself by. So yeah. 

Yesterday was hard because my choice to be a Christian was measured by the failings of Religion. Yesterday was hard because I was expected to be tolerant of another’s belief but my own choice was ripped apart. Yes, for the record i love hearing about other’s beliefs and experiences as it helps me love deeper. Yes I agree, and perhaps I am the worst kind of example of a Christian, that religion interpreted by extreme fantics falls short of a loving God. But my personal choice is not based on blind beliefs or so-called brainwashing or ‘opium of the masses’ but on personal experience. Besides as a recovering addict I never thought of God when I was using….only before or after…..just saying! Or think of God as an escape….it is the exact opposite for me….a severe but loving jolt back to reality. A reality that says the world is starved of love that does something beneficial.

I often say I wish I had the luxury of saying God is a metaphorical philosophy about the condition of humanity. But I can’t! 

In ‘Moonlight’ the lead character ‘Black’ faces his truth even in the mould of presumed masculinity. My faith also challenges me to face my truth in the face of presumption. My recovery is based on the principal that my spiritual well being is the only possible solution to stay sober.

DO I ACCEPT MYSELF TODAY?

If by accepting it means that i don’t have answers to all my questions but am willing to let life reveal them…like heck yes I am.

If by accepting it means that I don’t have to be classed by any one box of interpretation; yes.

If by accepting it means that I am mobilised to be a flawed Christian putting into action the principal of a faith loaded by doing….yes I do.

You see for every aspect of my life the piece of God that exists in me and ALL of us requires that I live in my truth that is flawed and glorious all at the same time. Like you. 

 IF I CAN SAY THIS WITHOUT BEING OFFENSIVE…..I DON’T REALLY CARE WHAT MAKES YOU GET OFF YOUR BUTT TO ACTUALLY DO SELFLESS STUFF TO IMPROVE THE WORLD. DOING IT MAKES ME LOVE YOU REGARDLESS. NOT DOING IT IS SIMPLY A PUFF OF HOT AIR!

And like the title ‘Moonlight’ implies that there is a light that shines in the midst of darkness if I/We are willing to face our truth. Face our truth and to do the internal homework of letting whatever moves us into ACTION the principal of LOVE IN MOTION.

So as I kissed and hugged my friends goodnight I was glad that they are in my life. I thank them for another hugely successful day where LOVE won.

Stay your beautiful self! Stay honest.

.AJB.

Leave a Reply

