They say….or do they?

As a hair and makeup artist I hear a lot of ‘They say.’ 

But I often wonder who is ‘They?’

Isn’t ‘They’ actually us or perhaps rather ‘We’?

I also wonder if we would say half the stuff ‘They say’ if we substituted ‘They’ for ‘We’.

I mean really doll. The only people around is ‘Us’ after all. Isn’t it? 

It has a bit of a different ring to it when it reads: ‘We say that life is too short, we just wonder who took the measurements.’….doesn’t it.

Like narcissists might always say ‘Me’ before ‘Us’, I guess that ‘They say’might be a way of abdicating responsibility of what ‘We’ think or believe. So many times in my own life my own use of ‘They say’ was my way of expressing an idea without obligation to standing up for the very fact I blurted out under the banner of ‘They say’.

Haven’t you ever wondered that if the information being developed from ‘They’ was entirely without manipulation or ego. 

I try live by a few simple rules: 

  • I don’t know much but the bits I do I try figure out the truth of it.
  • I try be honest ALL  the time….in my case, being dishonest, is a road to disarming my recovery.
  • My truth is a path to figuring out the real truth….so I own it; right or wrong. Either way I will learn something.
  • I am open to being wrong; even when it hurts. (I might blow a gasket but usually a few minutes later I am on my knees apologising for being a brat….sometimes it takes time to figure myself out….lol)
  • Don’t take myself too seriously. (actually that is automatic; I can only sulk or be offended or be put out for sooooooo long before I get bored & want to start having fun again…and God forbid if the other doesn’t want to play with me….lol)
  • I need people, so I try love people as hard and furiously as I can. ( I mess up often with people, but heck at least I am honest in it…..besides ‘kissing and making up’ can be rather nice.)
  • I AM NOT GOD, DON’T WANT TO BE GOD, AND AM HAPPIEST WHEN THE TEENY TINY PIECE OF GOD THAT IS IN ME IS THRIVING IN KINDNESS! (this puts me on an even-footing with everyone else so that I can get over myself and just BE because no one of us is more or less valuable than any other.)


    I often have clients chunking or sitting with a lump in their throats when I am allowed to consult in my fashion and not be demanded upon to do exactly as the picture shows by clients. 

    Why?

    Over the years I have developed a very specific and special consultation format that allows me to see people as they REALLY are. This might sound scary but the TRUTH is that I have yet to meet a truly and entirely nasty person. Yes we all can be a ‘son-of-a-gun’ but so far all people met are MAGNIFICENT in their true authenticity.

    {I hope that I never I meet  a pure evil person….even  my psychology and pastoral friends believe that those people are people that were  flipped by events in their lives that went terribly wrong.}

    I REMEMBER MY COUNCILLOR GILES ASKING ME YEARS AGO: ” WHY DO YOU TALK ABOUT YOURSELF IN THE THIRD PERSON?” IT TOOK A WHILE FOR ME TO ACCEPT AND ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I WAS SO ASHAMED OF MYSELF BACK THEN THAT I SPOKE ABOUT MYSELF FROM A ‘THEY SAY’ POINT OF VIEW. 

    Even my ‘bio’ on my website arionstylist.co.za. ends with the ‘They say’ endorsement from my clients.

    The point of this blog is really this…

    If you and I only stick to the comfortable shelter of our peers that think like us, live like us, believe like us, look like us, dress like us, talk like us doll, we will never know,truthfully, if we are blind in our perceptions of the others.

    A few years ago I volunteered at ‘Paballo ya Batho’ organisation. ( I must get back to it sometime….note to self!) What was amazing for me was this. I always feared the homeless because I came close a few times in my active addiction years. So I avoided the homeless because it made me scared to face my truth of my failings. By volunteering, touching and serving people who were in difficult circumstances I  learnt a valuable lesson….People are people no matter what their circumstances. I was taught that even if the proverbial hits the fan that their are people who can step out of themselves enough to reach out to those in need…..no matter what.

    So as I started practising not talking about myself from a ‘They say’ point of view and stood in ‘My Truth’ I allowed myself to be guided, and continue to, to higher truths. As I love myself more I automatically love others more too.

    Love is always supportive, loyal, hopeful, and trusting.

    1 Corinthians 13:7 CEVDCUS06

    http://bible.com/303/1co.13.7.CEVDCUS06

    Now if only I could learn to become a billionaire…..they say it’s possible…


    STAY YOUR AMAZING SELF!

    ❤ 

    • AJB • 

    One thought on “They say….or do they?

    1. “They say or do they ? ”

      I hear Arion’s voice here more then ever before.
      A beautiful piece of writing Ar that rings true and real .
      Inspirational

      Soup kitchen , a possability 😘

      You do open doors and take us places beyond our comfort zone , those of us who choose to move with you , Maestro !xxx

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    