Signs

Working on Miss SA this weekend, there were a lot of signs. Signs of a surprised winner. Signs of caution, signs of where to find what, signs of fatigue, colourful signs and signs of various dignitaries and VVIP guests.

Each sign marked a specific journey. I take my hat off to event organisers. To put each piece of the puzzle together to create a flawless production journey is hectic; especially for live television. 

   👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 

BUT PERHAPS THE TOUGHEST JOURNEY IS THE ONE WE TAKE TO THE HEART!

EACH of us has to take stock and perhaps recalculate the journey we are presently on. The thing that strikes me as a hairstylist is that we are all insecure. It doesn’t matter if you are the ‘Queen of Somewhere Land’ or the “Backstreet Alley Cat’. WE all need to look as objectively as we can at the condition of our lives. Sometimes with eyes closed!

Years ago I did a self-awareness program. One of the exercises that was required was to sit alone in the dark without distractions. Yes; no music. No TV. No munchies. No doodling stuff. No mobile. No kindle. No ipad. 没有, lutho, niks, nothing, NADA. I lasted a few minutes and what couldn’t have been more than 5 minutes, I guess. It might even have been seconds before I was throwing myself up against a wall like a child tantrums. It has taken much practice to get the point where I just enjoy MOI.

HOW MUCH TIME COULD YOU DO? Try it….I dare you!

The sign that is actually the motivator of this blog is the one below. 

Of course being a bit wicked, this sign had me cackling when I first laid eyes on in. But at breakfast on Sunday morning, I thought about how apt it actually is for life. Aren’t we all a bit ‘slippery when wet’ when we have to look at our levels of integrity and or honesty and sincerity towards ourselves and others?

I KNOW THAT I HAVE TO KEEP A CLOSE EYE ON MYSELF. IT IS JUST TOO EASY TO BRUSH MYSELF OFF AND KICK MY HEART TO THE CURB.

One of the hardest things, especially in Johannesburg, as a stylist, is the psychological warfare we have with clients. I don’t mean to be offensive or critical but look around at how many people look like carbon copies of eachother. Nevermind Hollywood and that strange ‘FACE’ so many end up with. One would think that the financial capital of SA would be more daring in their expression of self or more accurately their hearts.

Perhaps we as a people in a suburb, city, province, country need some self-imposed load-shedding to give ourselves the sight to read the signs that take the journey inwards.

I find it tough to deal with the almost split personalities we have. The mind wants one thing, the body another and the heart another.  

From experience, though, I have found that when I let myself off the hook and take a lesser travelled road to the inside, I quickly see that the mirrors in my life are oft not too wrong. But is does mean we need objective discernment. Discernment of others opinions of ourselves and especially of ourselves.

One of the most rewarding things in life is learning about how beautiful you actually are. I am surprised that it took me so long to drop my masks and just DO ME. I think you might find the same for yourself if you just give YOU a go. There are wells of authenticity that are so perfectly each of us in each of us. Like that favourite-favourite garment that seems to be so perfectly you. The colour, shape, the fabric and the look if it on your body shows you off just perfectly. Your TRUE heart is even better!!!!

WE JUST MUST DARE TO GET ONTO THE TRAIN CALLED OURSELF. SUCH BEAUTY, REWARDS,  LESSONS, AND MAGNIFICENCE AWAIT……….I PROMISE.

{I edited an ad from Via Rail. It echoed the sentiment of this blog so beautifully. The footage is the exclusive right of Via Rail…I thank them for the gorgeous footage and hope that you will enjoy my little edit, that drives the point home. I hope it  will inspire you to take a journey. A journey that will leave you breathless at the signs of your gorgeously raw and authentic self}

STAY YOUR AMAZING SELF.

• AJB • 

Leave a Reply

