Permission Granted

At a Redken international seminar, years ago, it was the first time I learnt that it was OK to say, "I don't know/ No/ That does not suit me." I had heard those statements from others but I had never spoken them myself. I guess that I was so busy trying to people-please and getting others to like me that I was a doormat. The outcome was that people loved taking advantage and I had a false sense of worth. These days I still struggle with those statements but I am far better than I ever was. 

SOMETIMES I WISH I COULD SAY NO TO MYSELF AND NOT GET MYSELF STUCK IN DEEP WATERS…..LOL.

Oh boy did I have FOMO deluxe. My upgraded version had all the suped up trims, pimped out mags, and even a golden loo thrown in for good measure. I really, if the truth be told, think I invented FOMO!

I remember times when my months were muuuuuuuuch longer than my paycheck, mmmmm it's still like that, lol. I would try every possible trick to get my hands on money just to avoid missing a night out.  I remember walking miles with just enough to pay the cover charge and hope to God that someone would fancy me and buy me drinks and give me a lift home. Aaaaargh I just cackle at that person I was.

The upside is that it shows the fighting spirit in me!

It took me years to learn that the world would still go on without me. Even longer to accept that I wasn't THAT important. Longer still to realise that the MOST stunning place in the world was the place called PEACE! 

USUALLY THAT PEACE IS FOUND ACCOMPANIED BY MY BED! 

Besides all the medical and scientific evidence of a 'chillout' the best part is that it is cheap to do. One doesn't even need to get out of our PJ's. Those days are my best days in the world now.

Even more satisfying than 'DRESS UP' is being ourselves. It reminds us of the simple pleasures in life. My favourite goto is tea with chunks of peanut butter and buttered toast. 

It's OK to not be switched on and ready all the time. It's OK to leave our phones off! It's OK to not be the life and soul of the party! It's OK to tell the world to, "WAIT HUUUUUUUNY I GOT SOME NOT-GONNA-BATH, FACE-STUFFIN, GOOD OL RELAXIN-MY-SLACKSIN TO DO." The great thing is that it tells our psyche that we value ourselves just as much as others and we grant ourselves permission to REJUVENATE. My ex and I had the best Sundays eva. We would have flavoured water, (try soda water with lemon/ ginger/mint/naartjie/grape and a pinch salt). We would do face masks, eat tons of fruit, have sour sweet competitions that I always lost, watch movies and have simple food that didn't require time to cook. I miss those Sundays.  

IT IS OK TO JUST PLAY BY ONESELF AND ENJOY IT TOO!

After weeks of being switched on, this Sunday is going to be a 'ME, MYSELF AND I SUNDAY.' 

SO UNTIL MONDAY, THIS BLOGGER IS TAKING TIME OUT FROM SPELLING AND GRAMMATICAL ERRORS AND PUTTING THE THOUGHTS AWAY FOR ANOTHER DAY. 

HAVE A FAB WEEKEND!

STAY YOUR AMAZING SELF!

 

• AJB • 

Leave a Reply

