Zephyr Breath 

4:01am Johannesburg ZA

I completed a new painting lastnight.

Besides the name having such an interesting idea, the painting, done in acrylic, is a conceptual wonder…..well for me at least. My friend Ella christened it ‘Zephyr Breath’. Once completed I didn’t know what to call my new art piece. We ended on ‘Zephyr Breath’ after ‘too-ing & fro-ing’ for a bit with the words jigsaw and life. The interesting thing is that zephyr is a synonym for life meaning ‘gentle breeze from the west’.  Also the colour Zephyr Blue is found in the painting; accidentally I might add. I didn’t even know there was a colour called Zephyr Blue. 

Also….

Origin and Etymology of zephyr

Middle English Zephirus, west wind (personified), from Latin Zephyrus, god of the west wind & zephyrus west wind, zephyr, from Greek Zephyros & zephyros.

This chilled mix on Mixcloud seems to have captivated the mood of my new art. 

https://www.mixcloud.com/eyeam4real/ocean-radio-chilled-midnight-silhouettes-6-11-17/

I was asked where my inspiration for the art came from by my friend Damien, who really is a phenomenal artist. Damien earns a living from his art, he is that brilliant. The funny part is that the idea started with pinstripes. As I was drawing the plan for this painting it emerged into what it now is. Ironically, incidentally the mere process is the experiential expression of a gentle movement.

  • The breeze starts somewhere and ends somewhere. 
  • We neither can see its movement with the naked eye but we can experience it.

Quite by mistake my amateur artist, playing with paint to create art for my own wall, has stumbled upon and created a piece that is something of an actual art piece.

Coincidentally my morning spiritual practice has touched on this concept of invisible processes too. Luke 12 begs the question of things both in and out of our control. So often we measure our successes by the sum of our life’s possessions. We overlook that the quality of our hearts and the ability to love is what life, actually, is all about. 

My friend Vic and I are often at loggerheads about our interpretation of God….lol. Vic is forever talking about Us being God and even though he is right to a point, as God is in us and us, He is also everything else too. I don’t want to get into a whole hoohah about this…lol. (Vic if you are reading this….I love you madly. You are one of the most sincere and thoughtful peeps I know!) The point is that our lives like the zephyr move along a rhythm that grows us out of the choices we make. We cannot see ‘choice’with the naked eye, only experience it. And boy, do we experience it when the rubber hits the tarmac. I am often in the hot seat!


So whether we get it wrong or right, somehow we stumble onto magic when we try and try and try again. 23 years into my career I won the biggest accolade of my career so far. This has given me the courage to start my little business, start a dance class, pick up art again, look to do a cooking course and to continue blogging. I may never reach any higher goals but one thing for sure is that I am going to try.

LIFE IS NEVER GOING TO BE EASY, FAIR  AND,OR ALWAYS NICE BUT IT SURE BEATS STAYING STUCK! Right?


I will meet you on the battlefield! But don’t shoot me; we are both fighting the same enemy…..ourselves! Like ‘ Zephyr Breath’ implies; out of our chaos a beautiful change happens that is a mysterious wonder that can only be experienced! 

Let it happen; you are worth it and deeply loved!

STAY YOUR AMAZING SELF!

❤️

AJB•

4 thoughts on “Zephyr Breath 

  1. Contemporary Artwork on the scale of Kandinsky, Miri , Picasso , blog beautiful , thought provoking and passionate coming from a point of truth and care .

    Well done Arion , don’t stop now !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really enjoying your blog and love your masterpiece. From someone who has also faced and overcome many challenges to finally get where I am today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

