Vandalism 

“The first modern graffiti writer is widely considered to be Cornbread, a high school student from Philadelphia, who in 1967 started tagging city walls to get the attention of a girl. But it was only in the 1980s that galleries began to showcase graffiti as artwork.”

I have been privy to watching some incredible graffiti art being done in Halo Hair Lounge. The thing that blew my mind was that the husband of the married duo, looking all skater-boyish, did the fine line work. The wife does the more realistic creations. FB oft is witness to another artist called Nomad. Besides creating sensational works he is not too bad on the eye either…..lol. ‘Non de plume’s’ are used by the graffiti artists to avoid legal implications.


I AM NUTS ABOUT GRAFFITI!

So often, what I call ‘witch-hunting philosophy’, we see the surface of a thing, misunderstand it, have misconstrued perceptions of it, and judge it without filtering the facts from fictitious ideas and/ or emotions. I, personally, am not the most E-IQ person, better than I was, so I need to have sounding boards to help me sift through stuff……🤣🤣🤣🤣

I was annoyed with myself yesterday, I accidentally discarded my blog. Thankfully the universe/ God/ life/ karma gave me more context for my topic: ‘Vandalism’. As per usual, my morning 📖 highlighted the stern warnings of consequence vs arrogant ‘self-ness’. 


It is hard to face the fact that we can choose our actions but the results are often out of our control. As an example, I am working on a ‘character’ for a television show today, creating a ‘rich, spoilt brat’ look for the actress. The hair-pieces are flawless except for a tiny patch of colour in the middle of a tiny clump of hair. It is not noticeable, until the hair moves. I wanted to kill my assistant but had to take myself in tow. I will do a quick ‘damage control’ emergency fix and all will be sorted. (told you that my E-IQ was a little rusty….lol)

Designing business cards for a business breakfast tomorrow has been rough, emotionally, but fun. I needed to create something that was trendy, classic, simple, striking, and lures to the fact that I am a top end stylist. Not top end because I think that I am all that….I know that is what some of you are thinking….lol. 🤣🤣🤣😜😇. Top end because the level of knowledge, care for my clients as individuals, and accolades say that about me. I found an app that made it simple, art, fonts and placement, with professional refinement,  the app made the process easy.


WHAT  ARE THESE, SEEMINGLY UNRELATED, STORIES GETTING TO?

  • Graffiti can be viewed as vandalism of property. In context, the art has a meaning that gives expression to the communication of love, gang wars & cultural frustrations to name a few. Perhaps the most common lesson is the limited resources of an artist to be recognized for their creative gifting’s.
  • A religious book can have gems that guide our, easily influenced, selves to a place of harmonious love for others. 
  • A spider bite can divert attention from missing a friend, and force us to rest a little in the goodness of our hardwork.

{YES, EL’ I AM MISSING YOU TERRIBLY. I guess something like an alcoholic having withdrawals.}

  • A TV character can reflect the social landscape of an over-indulged, under- disciplined & ‘brattish’ society.
  • Emergency business cards can remind us that, although singularly great, we need each other to be FABULOUS!


It is so easy to look through the filtered understanding of our eyes and judge ourselves as all that. But when we take a more in-depth and honest look we might find that we care very little for the ‘witches’ (people we don’t understand) and crucify them with a vandalism that destroys lives, hearts, dreams, hopes, faith and futures.

{Witches: a reference to the people branded and burnt at the stake from yesteryear.}

EACH OF US HAS TO BE PART OF THE LEGO PACK. IT IS THE ONLY LEGO PACK WE KNOW OF.

Even though I hate needles and hospitals, Sunday I had to step aside (or rather hobble), to let my spider bite that has vandalized my body be addressed. As much as I was irritated that 1 tiny drop of colour vandalized a piece of hair, a tiny button on my phone wiped out a blog, the reward is that a richer experience of this blog has cleared the way for a better E-IQ of ‘vandalism’ in context to how we treat ourselves and others.

My arrogant expectation of perfection is balanced by the humility of  needing others to get me through life. 


WE ARE ALL IN THIS MESS TOGETHER, LET’S MAKE IT FABULOUS DAAAAAAAAARLING!

Stay your amazing self!

❤️

•AJB•

One thought on “Vandalism 

  1. Vandalism , beautifully depicted in the heart of human nature !
    Thank you too as I miss you too , angelically and innocently , you are not my vandal you are of my truest , most beautiful friend ,
    Love you dearly and thank you , thank you for the hug 🌹
    Thank you ,
    This is a magnificent piece of the written and of the thought provoking !

    I Have only managed to read it now Maestro
    Love
    El

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

